The other day, a person at my school asked me my age, and she was surprised to find out how young I was. Her immediate next question was, ‘well aren’t you sad to be away from your parents?’ Of course I am. I’m halfway across the world from all the people I love. It’s hard being away while their life goes on. 

So, why am I here? There are so many responses to this. There are so many incredible places on this Earth, and I have this intense desire to experience as many as I can. I had gotten to the point of intense restlessness. After combining restlessness, wanderlust, desire to help others, and a fresh college graduate, I find myself here in Madagascar teaching English. It was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up, and I’m so glad I didn’t. It has allowed me to experience a new culture and a new language. It has also led me to my new friends. (I love making friends all over the world.) And lastly, it has opened my eyes; going abroad puts your values in check. 

One day I was talking to a friend how different my life is here, compared to back home. His response was, “stop, and take a look around, life isn’t that hard here. Life may be different, but those differences aren’t problems.” And that’s why I’m here, to compare, share, and be apart of a different way of life. 

I was given this incredible opportunity to make a difference in someone else’s life. Education, especially girl’s education, can open one’s life to so many opportunities. Everyone deserves the chance to experience what this world has to offer. So go abroad, take that trip you’ve always wanted to take, try the new coffee shop on the corner. There’s always a better time, or there’s now. Now is the best time to do it. Experience something new, challenge yourself, and help others along the way. 

 

Leave a Reply

