What do you pack for two years? Good question.

After the past couple of stressful days, I finally (somewhat) figured it out. Curious what I put in two checked bags, one at 45.5 lbs. (rolling duffel) and the other at 36 lbs. (hiking backpack), and two carry-on bags (a purse & a day pack)? Here’s a list:

  • 4 tanks
  • 2 hoodies
  • a jean jacket
  • 2 t-shirts
  • 4 short sleeve shirts
  • 1 pair of shorts
  • 3 gym shorts
  • 3 leggings
  • 1 dress
  • 2 skirts
  • 2 khaki pants (one sand color and one olive)
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • a bathing suit
  • a bandana, a couple of headbands, & a hat
  • a pocket knife
  • a headlamp
  • a flashlight
  • a solar charger
  • a hammock
  • an iPod full of music
  • unlocked cell phone
  • headphones
  • laptop
  • water bottles
  • LuminAID (solar light)
  • paper, pens, pencils
  • a notebook
  • envelopes
  • a couple of colors of nail polish
  • chargers
  • my Fitbit
  • some pictures
  • hairbrush
  • gum
  • trail mix
  • granola
  • a pillow
  • a towel
  • a deck of cards
  • banana-grams
  • friendship bracelet string
  • 3 wash cloths
  • coloring books & pencils
  • a kindle
  • 1 pair of Birkenstocks
  • 1 pair of sneakers
  • 1 pair of Keen waterproof hiking shoes
  • 1 pair of flats
  • 1 pair of flip-flops
  • 1 pair of Toms
  • 2 sweaters
  • 1 raincoat
  • my orange light jacket
  • 2 sweatshirts
  • 2 long sleeve shirts
  • 1 plaid shirt
  • 1 chambray shirt
  • 1 scarf
  • plenty of socks & underwear
  • 2 sport bras
  • enough toiletries to last about 3 months

We’ll find out soon if I forgot something! All I know for sure is that the most important thing I’m bringing with me is an OPEN MIND. I can’t wait to see what’s to come, so stay posted and follow my journey with me!

20160623_210350932_iOS

3 thoughts on “What to pack?

  1. Wow, Molly. Lots to plan and think about. You are staying for two years?? Will you get any breaks to come home now and then? I’m really interested in all the things you will be doing. I never knew anyone who joined the Peace Corps before. Good luck and God speed. I’ll be praying for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

