Five weeks from today, I leave for the adventure of a lifetime. 27 months in Madagascar. Part of me still doesn’t believe it. I will be living in another country on the other side of the world for 2 years and 3 months. That’s almost 7x the amount of time I spent during my semester in France. It’s half the amount of time I spent in college. It seems long, but it really won’t be. It’s a small amount of time when trying to improve communities. When telling people that I’m joining the Peace Corps, I get the same questions.

So, here are the answers to everyone’s same questions that I’ve been getting these past few months:

  1. Yes, I know 27 months is a long time to be away from family and friends, but it’s also a very short amount of time in the grand scheme of things.
  2. Madagascar is the large island located off the East Coast of Africa
  3. No, it will not be like the movie
  4. I’m not sure when will be the next time I come home
  5. Yes, the weather is warmer than that of Buffalo (no parkas needed!)
  6. I’m not sure if my family will come visit, we’ll see (ask them)
  7. No, I don’t know anyone else (yet) that is going
  8. Of course I’m scared/excited/nervous/thrilled/full of all sorts of emotions (why wouldn’t I be?)
  9. No, I don’t know where I’ll be living quite yet, I find out after my 3 months of training
  10. Yes, communication will be limited and the living and food situation will be completely different

The gist of all my responses to the questions people have for me is that: I love to travel and I love to help people. I want to immerse myself in another culture, learn a new language and experience another way of life. At the same time, I want to share with others what I know, teach English, and see the world.
I need to go. I need to see the world, meet new people, try new foods, and learn a new language. Read, dance, run, explore, share, listen, be.

So follow me as I explore the great island of Madagascar!

Leave a Reply

